Colonial Days Field Trip

Teachers, book your Colonial Days field trip today by calling 215-493-4076.

Washington Crossing Historic Park makes the perfect site for an educational (and fun!) field trip. The park offers dedicated Colonial Days that are specially designed for students of all ages.

During the day – which runs from 10 AM to 12:30 PM – students rotate through stations, spending 15 minutes at each stop to learn about life in colonial America and the events of Christmas 1776.

Some of the Colonial Days’ activities may include:

  • Participation in soldiers’ drills
  • Demonstration of musket and cannon firing
  • A view into 18th century domestic life at the Hibbs’ House
  • A tour of historic McConkey’s Ferry Inn, where George Washington spent time
  • Viewing of a short video about General Washington’s daring crossing of the Delaware River
  • Demonstrations of pit cooking, gardening, spinning, woodcarving and caning
  • Participation in 18th century children’s games
  • A visit to a working blacksmith shop
  • A tour of the boat barn containing replica Durham boats
  • Time for a picnic lunch overlooking the river
  • Time in the park gift shop

Available Dates

2017

  • Tuesday, October 17, 2017
  • Wednesday, October 25, 2017
  • Wednesday, November 8, 2017
  • Tuesday, November 14, 2017

2018

  • Thursday, March 22, 2018
  • Wednesday, April 11, 2018
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018
  • Wednesday, May 2, 2018
  • Thursday, May 3, 2018
  • Wednesday, May 9, 2018
  • Thursday, May 10, 2018
  • Wednesday, May 16, 2018
  • Thursday, May 17, 2018
  • Wednesday, May 23, 2018
  • Thursday, May 24, 2018
  • Wednesday, May 30, 2018
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018
  • Tuesday, June 5, 2018
  • Thursday, June 7, 2018
  • Tuesday, June 12, 2018
  • Thursday, June 14, 2018

Booking Information

  • Capacity for each day is 400 students, and bookings are taken on a first-come, first-served basis
  • Cost is $9.50 per student and adult (one free adult for every 10 students)
  • A 25% deposit is required at the time of booking
  • Checks should be payable to Friends of Washington Crossing Park
  • Fields trips are held rain or shine and are only cancelled in cases of dangerous weather
  • Tour cancelled due to severe weather will be postponed to a mutually agreed upon date
  • Schools that cancel less than 14 days prior to their field trips will forfeit their deposit

“Sheep to Shawl” Day

In addition to Colonial Days, the park also offers a special, one-day only “Sheep to Shawl!” experience. . The day includes sheep shearing, demonstrations of wool dying, wool washing, pit cooking and gardening, and a tour of the Thompson-Neely House, located just a few miles north of the main park on River Road.

The Sheep Shearing Experience has limited space and books on a first-come, first-served basis. Cost is $8 per student and adult (one free adult for every 10 K-12 student). Preschools who register in advance are eligible for a special offer! Cost is $100 for up to 25 kids, and $2.50 for each additional kid. Parents and teachers are free!

Stay tuned for the date and time of Sheep-to-Shawl Day 2018!