Colonial Days Field Trip

Washington Crossing Historic Park makes the perfect site for an educational (and fun!) field trip. The park offers dedicated Colonial Days that are specially designed for students of all ages.

During the day – which runs from 10 AM to 12:30 PM – students rotate through stations, spending 15 minutes at each stop to learn about life in colonial America and the events of Christmas 1776.

Book your Colonial Days field trip by emailing info@washingtoncrossingpark.org.

ACTIVITIES

Some of the Colonial Days’ activities may include:

  • Participation in soldiers’ drills
  • Demonstration of musket and cannon firing
  • Viewing of a short video about General Washington’s daring crossing of the Delaware River
  • Demonstrations of pit cooking, gardening, spinning, woodcarving and caning
  • Participation in 18th century children’s games
  • A visit to a working blacksmith shop
  • A tour of the boat barn containing replica Durham boats
  • Time for a picnic lunch overlooking the river
  • Time in the park gift shop

AVAILABLE DATES

Private programs and field trips are available on other days at request. All of the dates listed below are public program dates open to other schools. Please email info@washingtoncrossingpark.org to inquire about private programs.

    • Wed. October 12, 2022
    • Wed. October 26, 2022
    • Thurs. November 3, 2022
    • Thurs. November 17, 2022
    • Wed. April 5, 2023
    • Wed. April 12, 2023
    • Wed. April 19, 2023
    • Thurs. May 4, 2023
    • Wed. May 10, 2023
    • Thurs. May 18, 2023
    • Wed. May 24, 2023
    • Thurs. June 1, 2023
    • Wed. June 7, 2023
    • Thurs. June 15, 2023

BOOKING INFORMATION

  • Colonial Days Field Trip availability is subject to change per DCNR program requirements
  • Capacity for each day is 350 students, and bookings are taken on a first-come, first-served basis
  • Cost is $9.50 per student and adult (one free adult for every 10 students)
  • A 25% deposit is required at the time of booking
  • Checks should be payable to Friends of Washington Crossing Park
  • Fields trips are held rain or shine and are only cancelled in cases of dangerous weather
  • Tour cancelled due to severe weather will be postponed to a mutually agreed upon date
  • Schools that cancel less than 14 days prior to their field trips will forfeit their deposit
  • Please forgive our appearance due to our ongoing Capital Project renovations

Subscribe for alerts about new Colonial Day Field Trip dates: