Colonial Days Field Trip

Dates  |  Booking 

Washington Crossing Historic Park makes the perfect site for an educational (and fun!) field trip. The park offers dedicated Colonial Days that are specially designed for students of all ages.

During the day – which runs from 10 AM to 12:30 PM – students rotate through stations, spending 15 minutes at each stop to learn about life in colonial America and the events of Christmas 1776.

Book your Colonial Days field trip today by calling 215-493-4076.

Activities

Some of the Colonial Days’ activities may include:

  • Participation in soldiers’ drills
  • Demonstration of musket and cannon firing
  • A view into 18th century domestic life at the Hibbs’ House
  • A tour of historic McConkey’s Ferry Inn, where George Washington spent time
  • Viewing of a short video about General Washington’s daring crossing of the Delaware River
  • Demonstrations of pit cooking, gardening, spinning, woodcarving and caning
  • Participation in 18th century children’s games
  • A visit to a working blacksmith shop
  • A tour of the boat barn containing replica Durham boats
  • Time for a picnic lunch overlooking the river
  • Time in the park gift shop

Available Dates

Fall 2019

  • Wednesday, October 23, 2019
  • Wednesday, November 6, 2019
  • Wednesday, November 20, 2019
  • Additional Dates Available by Request

Spring 2020

  • Wednesday, April 29, 2020
  • Wednesday, May 6, 2020
  • Thursday, May 7, 2020
  • Wednesday, May 13, 2020
  • Thursday, May 14, 2020
  • Wednesday, May 20, 2020
  • Thursday, May 21, 2020
  • Wednesday, May 27, 2020
  • Thursday, May 28, 2020
  • Wednesday, June 3, 2020
  • Thursday, June  4, 2020
  • Tuesday, June 9, 2020
  • Thursday, June 11, 2020

Additional dates can be selected based on staff availability, please email info@washingtoncrossingpark.org to inquire about additional dates. Private programs are also available upon request between September and April and after June 11, 2020.

Booking Information

  • Capacity for each day is 400 students, and bookings are taken on a first-come, first-served basis
  • Cost is $9.50 per student and adult (one free adult for every 10 students)
  • A 25% deposit is required at the time of booking
  • Checks should be payable to Friends of Washington Crossing Park
  • Fields trips are held rain or shine and are only cancelled in cases of dangerous weather
  • Tour cancelled due to severe weather will be postponed to a mutually agreed upon date
  • Schools that cancel less than 14 days prior to their field trips will forfeit their deposit

Subscribe for alerts about new Colonial Day Field Trip dates: